Fandom

Final Fantasy Wiki

Memo File

20,622 pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

The Memo File, also known simply as Memo, is a way of temporarily saving game progress to active memory instead of to a Memory Card. A key benefit of using the Memo File is it takes less time to save, however there is only one Memo slot available at a time and the data is lost when the console is turned off or the player performs a hard reset on the console. A Memo File can be loaded from the main menu after executing a Soft reset or returning there after receiving a Game Over.

While the Memo File is often used as an alternative to saving on the Memory Card when at a save point, some games allow the Memo File to save progress at any point during the game. This can be exploited by Memo saving after every step, allowing a player to traverse an entire dungeon without technically encountering a random encounter since a soft reset would be executed every time this happens. It also allows the player to avoid contracting negative status effects.

The feature has appeared in many of the remakes of the earlier games in the Final Fantasy series, but is less commonplace elsewhere.

AppearancesEdit

Final FantasyEdit

FFI Memo Save

Final Fantasy.

The Memo File is available in the Origins version of the game. It can be used at any point in the field, unlike the Memory Card Save File which can only be executed at limited places in the game. A Memo option exists in the menu where a Save option would usually be found in other games.

The player can quickly access the Memo section of the Menu by selecting the R2 button, or a button of their choice if they choose to customize the controller. The Memo Save function is absent in the Advance remake onwards, replaced by being able to save anywhere at any time.

Final Fantasy IIEdit

FFII Memo Save

Final Fantasy II.

The Memo File option appears in the menu in the Origins release of Final Fantasy II. It can be used at any point in the field, unlike the Save option which is only accessible on the world map. The Memo Save function is absent in the Advance remake onwards, replaced by being able to save anywhere at any time.

Final Fantasy IVEdit

FFIV Memo File PS

Final Fantasy IV.

The Memo option is an alternative to selecting the Memory Card slots at save points or on the World Map in the PlayStation version of Final Fantasy IV. It is slightly faster and doesn't permanently overwrite the Memory Card data, allowing the player to revert back to it if need be. However, the Memo file only lasts as long as the system's power isn't interrupted. The Memo Save function is absent from all other versions of the game.

Final Fantasy VEdit

FFV Memo File PS

Final Fantasy V.

The Memo option in the Anthology release allows the player to quick-save game progress in a temporary file instead of saving it to a Save File on the Memory Card. It can be saved at save points or on the World Map like the normal save feature. The Memo File can be loaded if the player receives a Game Over or uses a soft reset. The Memo Save function is absent from all other versions of the game.

Final Fantasy VIEdit

FFVI Memo File PS

Final Fantasy VI.

In the PlayStation version, players can select the Memo File option to create a temporary save file that stays active until the system is reset or switched off. The Memo option is a subordinate of the Save option on the menu. The Memo File can be loaded if the player returns to the Menu without a power interference with the system.

An identical option called "Quicksave" in the Advance release allows the player to save from the menu at any time outside of battle, returning to the menu screen and allowing the system to be turned off. Selecting the Quicksave file from the menu or loading a game from a saved file deletes the Quicksave data.

GalleryEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki